Tall oaks from little acorns grow

David Everett

We encourage every child’s learning by providing a well-balanced and stimulating range of activities across all seven areas of learning. We plan to enable individuals to progress at their own pace and reach their full potential. Of paramount importance is the development of the child’s personal, social and emotional development. Self-confidence is encouraged in a sensitive, responsive, warm and loving environment.

The Early Years Foundation Stage


The Early Years Foundation Stage was introduced in 2008. It consists of a Statutory Framework, which sets the standards for learning, development and care for children from birth to five.
Within the Early Years Foundation Stage your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning:

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Communication and Language

  • Physical Development

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning. As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in four specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the World

  • Expressive Arts and Design

These seven areas are used to plan your child’s learning. We will ensure that the activities offered are suited to your child’s unique needs.